Posted by: critzpastor | August 25, 2008

FYI

 

Signs, Signs, everywhere signs!

Signs, Signs, everywhere signs!

Sorry ’bout the Bob Dylan reference, but I couldn’t resist.  

I try to look at things from the perspective of the non-church goer and I’m not quite sure what to think about this sign.  To me it’s a funny sign, but would others see it as judgmental?  Would it encourage them to come in, keep driving or worse?  

I’ve always struggled with what should go on church signs.  I’ve never been real sure about what is expected.  Are they suppose to be for church folks, non-church folks, God or who?

What really challenges me even more is realizing that my life and the lives of those who attend our churches are signs that our communities read everyday!  So what message am I putting out for others to read?  Is it critical?  Judgmental?  Loving?  Encouraging?

It really does matter how we (meaning all of us) live in front of others.  Our actions, attitudes, work ethic, etc., speaks volumes to those around us about who we are and what we believe.  Then when we hang a sign that is blatantly christian on our lives, but it contradicts what they see us doing everyday, it not only reflects poorly on us, but also on Jesus!

This is how everyone will recognize that you are my discipleswhen they see the love you have for each other.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

