Posted by: critzpastor | September 10, 2008

Remember 9-11?

 

9-11

9-11

I still remember!  It was my day off and our senior pastor’s kids were staying with us, while they were out of town for a conference.  I had just gotten back from dropping them off at school.  I walked in and turned on the TV to fox news.  It took me a few minutes to figure out what they were talking about, but then I sat there with the rest of the world as we watched the second plane hit!  

We watched all day!  We tried to decide if the terrorist would attack schools.  Should we go pick up the kids?  After all we were just west of Richmond Va.  Only a few hours from D.C., and they just hit the Pentagon!

I remember watching TV until I couldn’t take it anymore, but what if they struck again?  I remember the absence of airplanes over our brick rancher.  I remember the community services, the candles, the flags and the tears.

I still don’t like the Dixie Chicks!

I still remember, do you?

Responses

  1. Like it was yesterday. I was in the car listening to the radio when the first plane hit, and was serving coffee to clients in front of the TV when the towers fell. Like you, I was glued to the TV. For almost a week, actually. Short of turning the TV off, it was hard to avoid because every channel instanly became a 24-hour news station. I think the memory of 9/11 will be similar to when Kennedy was shot – everyone will forever remember where they were when it happened.

    I don’t care for the Dixie Chicks either. But mostly because Natalie annoys the heck outta me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

