Posted by: critzpastor | December 16, 2008

Disturbing Trends?

 

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

I don’t usually get rattled very easily, but one of my friends from college use to say, “Just because your paranoid doesn’t mean that they are not out to get you!”

So at some point with the current climate due to the economy, the election and pending inauguration.  I’ve seen some troubling things.  Now I’m not trying to search for the wildest examples out on the net.  I’m just going to mention a few that I have seen or heard to be true personally.

  • Several family members that are or may soon be loosing their jobs, some who have been employed for 13+ years
  • Food banks running out of food!!!!?
  • People, lots of people buying up on firearms?
  • People leaving retirement to work, just to pay for health insurance?
  • Giving to local churches (not mega churches) in steady decline

Some of these things are sad, but not disturbing on their own, but together …  Before I open this up for discussion let me say that it is important to remember as scripture says, “Our help comes from the Lord!”  With that said and taken to heart, it is important to be to never stick our heads in the sand as it were.

So … what do you think about these things?  Are they trends? If so, what might they suggest? What are you seeing in your neck of the woods?

Responses

  1. I think you did a great job of summarizing the source of everyone’s anxiety these days. The combination of all the things you mentioned is like a perfect storm. I’m just thankful that I have a fairly-secure job (I’m the only one who can do what I do), and no money in retirement funds to worry about losing. Sometimes having little in your pockets is a blessing to the mind!


Leave a Reply

Categories

