Posted by: critzpastor | April 4, 2009

Truth!

Mind your P's and Q's

Mind your P's and Q's

You can’t make a silk purse out of a sows ear – You cannot change the fundamental nature of things, no matter how hard you try.

but have ya’ ever tried? I have, I still am and probably will continue to! It’s in my nature I guess. Not so much that “I” think I can change every thing, but I simple refuse to believe that something is so, just because someone else says so! The funny thing is, things meaning primarily people and situations, do change even the “hard” cases. So often times when others have given up on a situation or person I have seen the miracle because I still believed!

What doesn’t change? God, his Word, his Truth! Yes, I know that our interpretation of things often change, so wherein God never does change, nor His Word or His Truth, the way we understand it sometimes does. With that being said, here is what I see happening when good, godly people begin to buck up against the will of the Lord for their lives.

Let’s say that I am a believer and willingly submit myself to God’s plan for my life, but then at some point my eyes see something …. an activity, a person, a thing that I desire. The problem? What I have seen is not for me, it’s not in His will for me. It may be a sin or sinful behavior, or it could simply be something or someone that would lead me astray, not evil, just not good for me. However, instead of accepting the direction of the Lord I begin to push against His will or flirt with the activity or person. The answer from the Lord will remain the same, but the longer I push for my own will the more difficulty I will have hearing the Lord’s will. He doesn’t change, my hearing and my perception change, until one day I ask and I don’t hear a resounding “No”, so I pronounce a victory! God has finally seen reason, and for some mysterious reason I am now aloud to proceed with my own plan!

Unfortunately for me, God doesn’t change! He will always want what is best for me, always! He is still there saying, maybe even pleading with me, not to follow my own path. The reality is that I, through my own persistence have “hardened my heart” to hear his call. In my own ignorance I have proclaimed clean what God has said is unclean! I have become a “god” unto myself, I am an idolater!

Truth!

“Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

