Posted by: critzpastor | April 16, 2009

Favorite Childhood memories …

OJ in a can!

OJ in a can!

So unless your from central Florida you just may not get this, but that is exactly why I do. Ya see in a neighboring town, near where I grew up in central Florida, was an OJ company called “Donald Duck”. One of the things I remember most about my childhood was drinking Donald Duck OJ out of the 8 oz tin cans (yes that small and yes real tin). Well last week when I went to give blood the host had OJ in a can and it came from that same town. I turns out they changed the size of the can, the type of can and the name of the company! But guess what? It was the same OJ! You could taste it!

Canned OJ isn’t my most favorite memory. Honestly, anything that reminds me of central Florida brings back that flood of warm fuzzyies, here are a few:

– the scent of orange blossom in bloom, especially at night with Eddie Rabbit or Willie on the radio (don’t ask!)
– orange blossom honey (there’s a tang you don’t get that just isn’t in clover honey!)
– Guava jelly (anytime, anywhere! I brought three jars back from Nassau last year!)
– Early morning mist and coffee (my earliest memory in Okeechobee looking out my grandma’s back door at rabbits playing under the guava tree!)

I’m having to be mean daddy this morning. I don’t like it, but it is part of the job at times. It doesn’t make me feel guilty it is just what is necessary this morning for my son to learn responsibility and self discipline. Down the road, it may not be one of his favorite memories, but I pray (seriously, I do) that these times shape him into a man and not a victim, into a person of true faith, not merely a passive believer …

What are your favorite childhood reminiscence?

Responses

  1. Childhood memories… those Lifesavers Storybooks that were out every Christmas, the Cadbury cream chocolate Easter eggs, watching the local fireworks from my bedroom window while eatting watermellon slices on Blue Willow pattern plates, reading the Sunday comics while eatting summer sausage and cheese on Ritz crackers – why do all of these involve food? Oooo – and paper airplanes and Space Invaders on the brand spanking new Atari.

    I’m sure more will come to me, but that’s a good start.


Leave a Reply

Categories

