Posted by: critzpastor | July 3, 2009

Expecting the unexpected!

Our dog Ada is brilliant! Like most German Shepherds she is smart and eager to please. She loves to work and she gets in trouble if she isn’t kept busy or challenged. The one point where she just doesn’t get is that she tells on herself! No, really! If she gets into something or a hold of something that she isn’t suppose to she doesn’t run and hide. No! She slinks in to the room where we are with her tale between her legs. You can always tell by the way she is acting that she has Jackson’s toy or Jaime’s sock. I’m not complaining mind you. It makes life more simple, but it’s a little pathetic for such a smart animal! If you don’t believe me look at this picture.

GSD pacifist!

GSD pacifist!

You just don’t expect a smart dog to be that dumb! Although I find all too often that I struggle with the same tendencies. I believe that God is able! I believe that He is and He is the rewarder of those who diligently seek Him! I believe He is able to supply all my needs according to His riches in glory! I believe that when I walk through the valley of the shadow of death he is with me. I know it’s true because His rod and His staff have comforted me there! I know that He prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies. I know this because I have eaten at that table and enjoyed the fruit of fellowship with Him when all Hell seemed like it was coming against me.

Yet …

at times I still come slinking around the corner when he calls with the evidence of my doubt, despair, fear, etc., paraded before Him. I know that I shouldn’t look with fleshly eyes only. I know I should trust in that which I can not see, but I know is so very real! I know I should expect the unexpected. That contrary to all life my throw at me and the chaos that may surround me, I know that He is in control! I know, I just forget!

Like this week when we finished our budget for July and we realized that baby formula would “eat up” literally half of it! I know that He knows and that He has a plan. I know, but I forget. Then the next day my wife is literally given the equivalent of $1,111 worth of formula!

That’s when I feel like the dog! Caught with my guilt hanging from my mouth! Red handed in my lack of faith!

Lord, I believe, help my unbelief!

Leave a Reply

Categories

