Posted by: critzpastor | July 26, 2009

The Waiting!

I preached last week from Isaiah 40:31 focusing especially on the first phrase, “Those who wait upon the Lord …” The word wait there in the Hebrew is qâvâh
kaw-vaw’
A primitive root; to bind together (perhaps by twisting), that is, collect; (figuratively) to expect:—gather (together), look, patiently, tarry, wait (for, on, upon).

The idea is of a waiting period in which you (actively) bind yourself to/together with those things or The One that strengthens you. Another verse that seems to fit is James 4:8 “Come close to God and he will come close to you.”

One thing I am realizing in The Waiting is that God is active as well. I may not be able to see now what is happening, but I will be able to look back and realize the work that He has been doing on my behalf.

Our whole life is in transition! No we are not “leaving” our church nor do we want to, but we have to make adjustments in our family. I will be starting to work outside the church, due to the poor economy. Kristen may or may not be teaching this year. She may or may not be home schooling Jackson and staying at home with Jaime. Then there is the whole adoption process, which seems to be secure, but it still isn’t finalized, so….

So we wait, but not in a lackadaisical fashion. We spend our time wrapping ourselves up, binding ourselves to the only One who can strengthen us. The Waiting will end; when it does we will be ready for whatever lies ahead!

Responses

  1. I don’t enjoy the waiting but I’m getting better at it!

  2. I know you are! I hope you get that phone call and can finally sleep tonight!

  3. Remember Grouchy Smurf? “I HATE WAITING!” There is an element of endurance involved. I understand the state of transition, in fact, my life is destined to remain there. I am doing better in my acceptance of it however. I am thankful to have good friends in the “waiting room” with me. So glad to know both of you. May God bless you and keep you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

