Posted by: critzpastor | February 20, 2010

If arches are one of the oldest architectural structures, why have mine fallen?

Day 3
Week 1 Day 2 of Couch to 5K

If you have read this blog in the past you may be wondering why in the world I am using it as a journaling sight and what in the world am I talking about anyway? It begins with a scripture reference found in Mark 12:29,30,

“Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’”

It occurred to me that as a Christian and as a pastor I do pretty well, at least sometimes, with the spiritual side of this equation. Whereas, I often fall short of the more practical side dealing with the body (represented by the word strength in this translation). We are told in scripture that the body is the temple of the Holy Spirit. I’ve been expanding the temple, but extra mass does not mean extra health, in fact the opposite is true! How could I say I Loved God with all my heart, spirit and mind, when in fact I was dishonoring His presence in my body by being a bad care taker of that body?

So I have begun a long overdue journey to good health by trying to improve my eating habits and become more disciplined with exercise. If it weren’t for laziness I would say this journey would be a breeze because I love healthy food and I really enjoy having an active life style. The problem is that I have been lazy. I have chosen the easier path when it comes to food and in relation to exercise I have tried to participate vicariously through watching others. So now I have repented and begun the process of “beating my body into submission” as Paul would say. I realize it will take time, but I find myself looking forward to the adventure/challenge.

Therefore here is my report for today!

We had a great day relaxing and watching Animal Planet this morning! Kristen took Ada the GSD for a run, while Jackson and I stayed home with Jaime. Jackson and I hit the road right before lunch. To put it in his words, “This is easier than last time!” Indeed when we were following the Couch to 5k program before Christmas we had finished Week 3. Remembering back the 2nd day of the first week was pretty tough. So, in light of my enlightened off springs pronouncement I must agree, today’s run was really good! We ate a moderate lunch of lunch meat sandwiches and a really healthy dinner prepared by my loving significant other (wife of 16+ yrs.).

I am very and blessed and thankful for this 2nd Chance at getting back into good health! I had word today of an old and dear friend who is my age and just had a serious health crisis this past week. That same friend use to say in jest, “Don’t smoke, don’t drink and die anyway!” So this is my 2nd Chance and with my beautiful wife, 10 year old son and 9 month old daughter cheering me on and joining in when possible, I plan on making the best of it! And maybe, just maybe, keeping track of successes and failures here will keep me on track, on the wagon on purpose!

CHARGE!

Responses

  1. Keep it up baby. You’re doing great!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

