Posted by: critzpastor | March 18, 2010

The runs!

Don't be last, get started!

Day 29

Week 4 Day 2 C25K

This week has been absolutely gorgeous! We have also taken advantage of the opportunity to run at the park in Stuart. The park track isn’t flat, but it definitely has less incline than the road in front of our house. Of course, since the entire family has been going somebody has had to watch Jaime. So I have been running this week while pushing a 27 lb. baby in a stroller! Yikes!

Week 4 of C25K entails a 5 intervals of 4 minutes running and 1 walking with the cheery news that week 5 begins with 8 minute running! Day one seemed to be a breeze even with stroller duty, but that was two days ago. Today we ran day two and it was a pain. My legs felt like they were full of lead and the stroller was more like pushing a bolder. The good news? I finished, ‘nough said!

As far as my eating goes, I am now a huge fan of Nutrimirror. I’m hooked. It is so easy to track our food, exercise and weight. You get instant visual reference to calories, fats, carbs, etc. You can not only track your daily, but also your weekly progress. It’s very helpful and beneficial!

So why is all of this so important to me? Apart from the obvious health benefits, I have already begun to experience emotional benefits. As I shared with a colleague earlier today, I diagnosed myself (after having begun to run) as having entered a mild depression last year. It became crystal clear to me and my family that after we began to run in December, I experienced a break through from a cloudy disposition. I honestly didn’t realize that I needed a break through, but once it happened there was not doubt. I believe that as we continue to exercise and eat healthy that the benefits will also be seen spiritually in my personal life, family and church. Those changes may be more subtle, but I believe they will be evident!

Lastly, I would say that I am gaining my life and more importantly an inheritance for my children. I was on a path to squander an invaluable irreplaceable treasure. I was slowly digging my own grave of inactivity and excess weight. Worse yet, I was laying the groundwork for my children to follow in my footsteps. Thank God that has been stopped. I may not be able to gain back the years that were lost, but I am determined to live the life I have left to the fullest and teach my family to do the same.

Priceless!

That was today, but I didn't quit!

Leave a Reply

Categories

