Posted by: critzpastor | April 13, 2010

I am free to dance, but it ain’t pretty!

Day 55
Week 8 Day 2 (tomorrow)

Well another week and time for an update! So far in this journey of health and wellness I have lost almost 17 pounds! More importantly I have officially run 5k or 3.1 miles without stopping. It wasn’t a foot race by any definition, as a matter of fact it was one of my slower days I think, but for 46 minutes I ran and didn’t stop!

My dearly beloved is just two days behind me in the running department, but is doing a fantastic job! Whats more it is showing in her blood work and the Doc officially started reducing her meds! She is on the road to getting totally off all of her medicine for PCOS!

I also feel honored to have had a chance to share with about half a dozen friends about my journey specifically. I’m praying for them as they begin their own journeys. I’ll be the first to say that it isn’t easy, but it is one of the best decisions I have ever made.

Maybe the most exciting thing is that I am now officially planning my first backpacking trip with Jackson! I am ashamed to say that he asked me to take him on a day hike to Dragon’s tooth on the Appalachian Trail last year and I never did. The truth is it is a tough hike and I used Jaime’s birth as an excuse to myself, but I let my son down. However, now we are actually planning a three day two night hike beginning with Dragon’s Tooth! I’m finding myself again and in turn becoming the father that my son needs and I always wanted to be! We are planning family bike trips (I’ve had to cancel my century bike ride this month, but I’m looking for another one a little later). We are preparing to run 5K’s (yes plural) and want to start training for our first 10K! Living is so much more fun than simply existing!

Some may question my lack of spirituality as a pastor, after all isn’t all of that listed above fleshly, carnal maybe even worldly? Well as a pastor I learned a long time ago that no matter what you do there will always be those who will question, criticize or critic. Those folks don’t know squat because they interpret life through legalism and totally lack compassion. Any hoo … I do want to address the spiritual aspects of this change in my life although I would argue that you can’t separate life in to compartments. For the sake of argument let’s talk about Stewardship. The words “the life I live is not my own” come to mind. I really wonder what the Lord thinks about me throwing years of my life away do to laziness and poor habits? What about the time with my family that I am stealing? The finances I am misappropriating by paying more for health insurance, life insurance and XXL clothes?

That’s Stewardship, what about Gluttony? What about sloth? What about discipline? Can I preach/teach others about being a disciple when I have no personal discipline? What about my witness for Christ in those areas? What do others think of Jesus because of me?

Listen folks, it is all connected. Being thin or healthy does not make you holy, but it possible that our lack of care in these areas is keeping us from being all God wants us to be? What I know is that I am walking in freedom and hope now. I know peace in areas of my life that I have never experienced before. I realize that I don’t want to strain at a gnat and swallow a camel! I want victory in all of my life and I am finally beginning to experience it!

Victory Dance, Baby!

If this seems braggadocios or arrogant it really isn’t meant to be. It’s just the beginning of my victory dance!

Responses

  1. Dance away baby! I’ll try not to laugh too hard!

  2. I would bust a move, but I’m afraid to break anything else! Seriously, without your support and competition I couldn’t do it! You keep me running!


Leave a Reply

Categories

