Posted by: critzpastor | April 25, 2010

Reflections on the end of the beginning

Running with the Big Dog's

Clydesdale runners are men over 200 lbs! Yeah baby, but not for long!

Day 67

It’s week 10! Ok, so there isn’t technically a week ten in the 5K 101 running program, which means I finished! In fact for the entirety of the final week I chose to keep running until I completed a full 5K or 3.1 miles. Currently, I am running 3 to 5 times a week. I’m trying to build my speed by improving my technique and by running intervals. It is kind of hard to explain how absolutely fantastic I feel.

For the first time in my life it actually feels like a life change instead of an attempt at loosing weight. The difference is probably the difference between desire and necessity! I want to run and eat right instead of I have to or need to exercise and diet. I am literally seeing some of my greatest personal successes in the midst of some of the most troubling and unstable times of my life.

In the past, my personal troubles or stresses would under mind my attempts at healthier living. If something bad happened or a particular situation escalated I would allow it to interfere with my workout schedule. Or worse yet I would sabotage my own efforts by “stress eating”. However, “the times they are a changin” to quote the song. I have lost 21.3 pounds currently and I can tell you quite honestly we are still in the middle of the proverbial storm.

I traveled last week and still found time to run four times! I was treated out to eat every day: steak, steak, mexican, steak, Italian, etc. Even with all the temptation to eat whatever I wanted to and as much as I wanted to, I was still able to loose 2.2 pounds! It wasn’t easy to be sure. I had to make choice that other people honestly didn’t understand. I had to be picky about what I ate and how it was prepared. I had to send perfectly good broccoli back to the kitchen because they put the garlic and butter sauce on it after I ordered it plain, but it was worth it!

A really cool perk was being able to meet some folks that have been where I am. I met a mom who had lost probably 80 pounds and competed in her first marathon. She was also getting ready to run a 5K with her teenage son for the first time. I heard the story of one of the companies Vice Presidents who had lost 50 pounds and would be celebrating his next wedding anniversary by competing in a 5K run with his wife on their anniversary! Those are goals I can now understand and look forward to! Kristen is finishing the training program this week, after being diagnosed with a severe case of anemia. She is out running week 1 day 1 with our 10 year old son as I type.

I still have about 45 pounds to loose, but I already feel like I am living my life instead of watching like a spectator on the side lines. It is never too late to start living your life. Start today, start small, but just start!

Leave a Reply

Categories

