Posted by: critzpastor | May 8, 2010

If my feet are moving, I’m STILL runnin’

Before Gallop for the Greenways


Day 80

Today was Graduation Day as Kristen called it! We finally ran in our first 5K! We both finished without walking, YES, and we both beat our personal best time. In the running world they call it a PR! I beat my old PR by two minutes!

It was an absolutely gorgeous day with tempts in the mid to low 70’s. The only down side was a really kicking wind. Trust me, we were not trying to set any new land speed. The goal was just to finish. The fact that we both had personal best times, especially with the majority of the last mile being up hill, was simply amazing.

Honestly, three months ago this was little more than a pipe dream when we started 5K 101 for the second time. As we completed the eight week program and learned to fit running is as a regular part of a life, our dreams began to take shape. Thankfully today the first dream was realized even with a flare of style, if I say so myself. I know I have talked at length in other post about how much this life style change has impacted every area of our lives, so I won’t be redundant. Suffice it to say, as we were leaving the event today, plans were already in the works to schedule the next few 5K’s and start training for a 10K by fall! The best is yet to come!

There’s a T-shirt that says, “If you see this shirt near the finish line, please drag it across with you!” At one point today, I asked one of the course officials, “Are my feet still moving?” The funny thing is it doesn’t matter what other people think. What we are doing, we are doing for ourselves and our family, not for other people. It is because we need to be healthy, we need to live long enough to see our kids, kids! It is because we are called to be good stewards by God, but it always seemed easier to just to apply that theology to money. It is because gluttony is a sin, but apparently doesn’t lead to death like other sins.

It is because God cares about us as a whole even if we continue to ignore the parts of his Word that we don’t agree with…

If you know me, you know I’m far from perfect. However, I’m getting closer to where and who He wants me to be!

Finished and still smiling!

Leave a Reply

Categories

