Posted by: critzpastor | July 31, 2010

What a month…!

Day 154

For those who don’t know the count down above is tracking my “new life”. I started counting after I made a commitment to exercise and eat right. So far I have lost 45 pounds as of this week! I have ran (albeit slowly) in my first 5K and 10K, and I have begun training for my first half marathon. I have about 21 pounds to go to my goal weight, but after that point it won’t be so much about weight. That goal is mainly something to shoot for, but the truth is I don’t care how “skinny” I get, it is more about getting to what every size is healthy for me. Any who…

This last month has been extremely busy. I worked two Virginia church youth camps earlier, one of which Jackson attended and of course had a blast. We also stayed busy with church and working with my parents at Childers Insurance, trying to make ends meet. I don’t know about you, but making ends meet is getting more and more difficult these days!

We have also been blessed to be able to take a few day trips with the kids to Emerald Point down in Greensboro, NC and to Fairy Stone State Park. They love the water park and we bought season tickets, since we were only an hour and fifteen minutes away. Fairy Stone is a new discovery for us this year. It is a top notch State Park in Virginia that is only about 30 minutes from the house that boast excellent facilities and an absolutely beautiful lake to swim, canoe, water cycle, etc.

Of course the highlight of this year’s summer will be our vacation that will be coming up soon. We will be joining together with Kristen’s two sister’s and their families for our first family vacation. We always have a great time together and it is going to be a blast and very relaxing to boot! Jackson is especially stoked about spending time with his cousins!

Probably the most exciting news and update for this past month just arrived on Wednesday of this week. We finally received the paper work and notice that Jaime’s adoption was finalized on July 22nd exactly 1 yr. and 2 months from her birthdate! I have to tell you that we have always had a confident assurance that this adoption was ordained by the Lord from start to finish. I know so many people have difficult times with their adoptions and spend so much time, money and energy to give children a loving home. I can honestly say that we didn’t deserve such an easy and inexpensive process, at least not more than anyone else. I all can do is recognize that it was and give God the glory for it. Our family is now complete and for that we are truly thankful!

We also owe a debt of gratitude to those who have supported us with their prayers and finances. We began this process over four years ago and so many of you helped with fundraisers or even financial gifts simply from the goodness of your hearts. Thank you! July 22nd will always be “Gotcha Day!” for the Hays family. It will be a day we celebrate and tell a beautiful story of love that began with a young mother struggling to make a terrifyingly heroic and selfless decision to do what was best for her unborn daughter and culminated only after so many of our friends and family prayed for and supported us in an endeavor to complete a family that knew it was suppose to be more.

Thank you, thank you one and all and to our Lord most of all!

Pool party ... kinda'

Leave a Reply

Categories

