Posted by: critzpastor | August 28, 2010

It’s never too late!

Hays 2010!

Day 182

If you want to talk about one of the over riding lessons I have learned this year it must be that it is NEVER TOO LATE!

This afternoon we have a play date set at the park, which isn’t too unusual because we go there a lot to run, ride scooters and swing! Today however, we will be meeting Jaime’s birth family. If we haven’t been in touch lately then you may not realize that on May 22, 2009 our baby girl made her grand appearance! You may have also missed the fact that she is adopted.

You can read my former post to hear the story, but in short we started a process that should have been a year and a half process, but life didn’t work out that way!

But after four years? Really? Did it have to take that long? Well, Yeah! The situations and circumstances that brought Jaime into this world could not have happened any sooner than they did. And since Jaime was suppose to be and always will be our daughter we had to wait on her! It wasn’t fun waiting. We actually gave up to some degree. We were desperate, tired and almost out of hope, but God wasn’t keeping her from us. She just wasn’t ready yet. Ecclesiastes suggest that there is a time and season to and for everything. We thought the answer to our prayers was too late, but she was right on time! By the way, even though it took months longer then “we thought” it should, on July 22, 2010 the final adoption papers were signed!

Let me give you one more example to prove that it is never too late. I’ll try the short story again!

Since January I have lost over 50 pounds (51.3 to be exact)! Have I tried to loose weight over the years? Yes, I’ve tried just about every diet and I would loose. I’ve had exercise goals and I lost. For years I lost modest amounts of weight. As a matter of fact for the last 15 years I would bounce up and down within the same 30 pound range…mostly up. Then a few years ago I turned 40 and I honestly had trouble dropping even a few pounds. So what changed? Did I try a new diet? Did I have a new revelation? Did I have surgery?

No, no and no!

I wish I could tell you what happened. I did have a few epiphanies. I realized that I was killing myself, but in the process creating my own early demise, I also realized that I would be stealing my kids future and hope from them. I grew up without a father and I knew I didn’t want that life for my kids. I also knew that if things did not change my kids would grow up without a mother also. Kristen was pre-diabetic and dealing with high cholesterol due to having PCOS. She had been in treatment with medicine, but her number one need was too loose weight and exercise. She was told that she could literally come off all her “meds” if she could do those two things. But we had known that for a few years too.

All I know is that something finally clicked.

We heard that a friend on facebook was starting the Couch to 5K, a program that gets you off the couch and running 30 minutes straight within 8 weeks. Kristen actually began to show interest and I wasn’t going to be out done. We started a similar MP3 program called 5K 101 in December. Due to weather we had to restart at the end of February. During that time I started logging my food to see what I was eating. The only thing I really counted was the amount of calories. In March we found Nutrimirror, which is a free website that allows you to track everything; food, exercise, weight and more. The rest, as they say, is history! No diets, no magic pills (or injections) and no surgeries.

Exercise and eat right! Who would have thought that would actually work? Well…

We ran our first 5K in May. I ran a 10K (and survived) in July. We ran our 2nd 5K together last week, both of us set new PR’s (personal records) and shaved minutes off our previous finish time. Currently we are both training for longer races. Kristen wants to run a 10K before Christmas and I want to run a half marathon. We love to run! It has been both physically, emotionally and spiritually the best thing ever in our lives! Kristen has lost close to 20 pounds and as of this week is off half her medicine! I am at the lowest weight I can remember. I am within 15 pounds of my goal weight, but now I realize that it won’t be my final goal. I use to think that it was almost an impossible goal, but I realize now that the goal isn’t weight as much as health. So I will allow my body to decide what the best weight is.
I have thrown away all 2x shirts and 40+ pants. I am on the verge of getting rid of the next size down as well! All within less than a year and the journey isn’t over.

It’s not too late!

Please don’t hear me preaching or tooting my own horn. I realize that not everyone has the same story, but I also realize that too many of us think it is too late. I want to encourage anyone and everyone to realize that you can find a healthier life style. Through prayer and simple changes you can see a new you in the days, weeks and months to come! It won’t be easy, nothing worth while ever is! It is a lot of work and learning to fall without failing, but it is possible!

It’s never too late!

Responses

  1. I’m glad we are on this journey together!

  2. That is great. I also have heard of the couch to 5K I am going to look into that and start it. You also ran a race that Lenny knows a lot of people from. you were maybe at races with Lenny and didn’t even know it funny. small world. I am also on a get healthier plan in my life. Great news about Jaimie you are great people and I know great parents.

  3. You guys look amazing!!

  4. Kristen there is no one I would rather sweat with!

    Thanks Sami and Lori! It has been a lot of hard work, but worth it. I am reminded of how much further I have to go, but for the first time in my life I know I can do it! Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

